Guilty of Pen-snobbery

Pen snob, that’s the first phrase that comes to mind when considering my assortment of writing instruments. I may very well fall into such category, but I will say it is justified.
Over the past few months, I’ve uploaded several posts on some of my favorite pens. Mainly, fountain pens. I’ll admit, I’m obsessed with them, however, this obsession comes from the need to personalize the things I carry.
Anyway, there is a reason to why I prefer my fountain pens over regular pen; several reasons actually. Not only can I freely choose my ink color, but a fountain pen is refillable so long as it is well maintained. Yet, the biggest reason for me is that over time, the more I use it, the more I mold it into something personal. The pen becomes an extension of myself, and I do not have to worry about it running out of ink or having to toss it once it does. Of course, an attraction to their classic nature is also at play, but, mostly I love them for being faithful companions. And, being a child of the last century, I cannot help but hold on to some of the older traditions, be it post mail or the use of fountain pens. There is just a sense of romance to it all that is missing in some of the newer forms of communication.
Anyway, I’ll end this here and wish you all a good night. Or morning, actually.

Leave a Reply

