Sometimes, I Wish I Was Home Schooled

You know, I can’t help but think of that song “It’s hard to say goodbye” at the moment. But in the next few hours I’ll be doing just that, I’ll be saying goodbye to my freedom and hello to my school books, cramped classrooms, homework and the ever present need for sleep that pervades the entire experience. This is because (drum roll please), the winter quarter at my university starts tomorrow. (Okay, this may be a bit redundant after the previous sentences. Shut up inner critic.) As many would be after six years of school, I am sick of it. However, on the bright side of things, this quarter is indeed a special one. If all goes well, fingers tightly crossed, I should be done with my English Degree. All that will be left is my Spanish one. It’s like getting the first whiff of fresh air in a city, like, a mile before you actually reach the lush green fields. (Did this even make sense? Sorry if I confused anyone.)

But yes, school has come again. Now I’m off to bed, hoping I get some sleep before my alarm goes off at 7 A.M.

G’night folks.

PS: After a long day at school, I look forward to returning home and completing assignment 5 of the Hero to Zero Challenge. Its presence will be my mental walking stick. (A little dramatic? Why not.)

8 thoughts on “Sometimes, I Wish I Was Home Schooled”

  1. Congratulations on almost getting that degree. My road to degrees was hilly and full of potholes. After four institutions, I finally got my B.A. in English at the University of Oregon. Go Ducks. My dad motivated me by asking if I were going to get my degree before I turned thirty. Well, one week prior to my March 1990 birthday, I submitted my last paper on Virginia Woolf for an incomplete that was holding me up, and Viola! I was papered. I works love to hear about your studies.

    1. Thank you so much! I know, this road is definitely a curvy one, I am so glad I’m almost done. Wow, congrats on getting your degree in 1990. (Strange fact: that’s the year I was born hahaha.) And over time, I will be sharing more of my academic struggles, because I’m sure we’re not the only students out there that had to (and still have to in my case) go through so many hoops. The reason it took me six years to get this one is because I didn’t take summer classes, and for a while the courses I needed weren’t offered. And then there were the infamous furlough days.

    1. They have, I’m preparing a post about them now, and it’ll be tomorrow night if not wednesday. But between you and me, I have fallen in love with my ethnic studies classroom! (So many rock samples, and old books!!!)

Leave a Reply

