Quiet Moments

For those  of you with a strange mind like mine, one without an off button or even a mute button, the quietest moments can often be the loudest. Sometimes my thoughts are like a pack of howling winds, each one fighting for dominance, for the most attention; and sometimes they are quite the elusive birds, they take flight before I can even turn both eyes on them. I hate these the most, the thoughts that I can’t grasp as much as I try. Mostly because I feel that they are important, and that if they are lost then there is a little part of me that becomes lost. Does this even make sense?

As you can see, my mind is in a strange place at the moment. I’ll stop the metaphors now and try to be more concrete. Quiet moments to me can be quite lethal, as they may be for others. (Is it bad that I hope so? That I hope to not be alone in this?) I have to face myself during these moments, and sometimes I do not like what I see. I’ve been working on this though, and now there are times too where I see glimpses of someone else, someone I like and someone I would like to be. I think, “there she is, there is the real me,” and I smile.

What do you think about during quiet moments like these?

2 thoughts on “Quiet Moments”

  1. I love this. I can relate to your post. Quiet times are indeed the most dangerous for me as well. I do not sleep because of this. All of the stresses and worries of my past & present swim around in my head and refuse to slow down. I feel your pain.

    1. Thanks a lot for taking the time to read this and reply, as well as browse my blog! Indeed, the past can be a horrible looming presence at times. I am glad for my friends, if it weren’t for them then I would really feel alone all the time.

Leave a Reply

