Letters from Germany and Belgium!

Hello Everyone,

I hope you are all starting the week off well. Here in the Bay Area the sun’s shining down on everything, but it’s cool (for now) so I’m going to enjoy it as much as I can before the impending heat wave strikes yet again. Anyway, what inspired this post are none other than letters from my pen-pals in Germany and Belgium: Franziska and Elisse. Here’s what they sent:

Image

The above letter (package really) is from Franziska in Germany. She’s an amazing girl, a sketch artist and professional violinist. Of course, what really makes her unique is her fiery determination, creative and honest nature.  We’ve been pen pals since May. If you’re curious, this is her tumblr: cchtml.

Now, for those who want to know, this is what’s in the letter: 3 sketches, one of ballerinas, one of the actress Julia Ormond, and one of a beautiful eye. Amazing aren’t they? I’m going to look into getting them mounted or framed. Next come 2 old postcards of Poland, and a pollish bill (“Ztoty”) from the Soviet Union era. Lastly, there are the two decorated envelopes, one that held the letter and one that held everything. The larger envelope (upper right corner) also has a quote from Socrates in the back, which isn’t shown in the picture. This is the quote: “False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil.” A great quote if I do say so myself. Overall, this letter was a great find in the mail this morning, brightened up my entire day! Thanks so much Franziska!

Image

Now, Elisse’s letter came in a few days ago, but I wasn’t able to update my blogs because of work. (Extra hours though do mean extra money, so I can’t complain.) Elisse is from Belgium, and is also a very creative spirit. She dabbles in almost everything as far as I know. If you’re curious, check out her personal blog as well!! (Elisse’s Blogspot) We’ve been pen-pals for a long time now, almost a year, if not already that. (I need to look at her first letter to be specific, only it got packed away when I moved.)

This is what she sent: a letter (of course) kept closed by a bird-shaped paperclip. (So cute!) A small pouch of antique stamps! (Seriously there was one in there from the US, a 3 cent one that you lick!) There was also a bag of stickers and other goodies, a bird post card that I plan to add to the wall over my bed with the rest of the ones that Franziska has sent me over the last few months, a couple stacks of post-it notes that are really cute, and of course a polaroid of her adorable new kitties! Thanks so much for the goodies Elisse! I am still working on my response letter, but hopefully I’ll have it out by the end of this week. (Along with the rest of the stack that’s accumulated over the last couple weeks. Sorry guys!)

Overall, these letters are amazing, as well as all the others that I get from my pen-pals.

7 thoughts on “Letters from Germany and Belgium!”

    1. It is a lot of fun! I actually met Franziska on a social network site named Tumblr, and contacted Elisse directly through email after seeing her blog. I hope you find a pen-pal as well:)

Leave a Reply

