Concerned Thoughts

For a few days now I’ve been thinking about my generation, and what’s been happening in the last twenty-three years. Things are changing drastically for us, and after 9/11 the changes upped their pace. Maybe this was supposed to happen anyway, but I can’t help but dwell on it. My elementary school doesn’t exist anymore, neither does my high school. And now there’s talk of merging my home city with several others. I look at the old pictures and postcards I collected as a kid and a wave of dread and sadness slams into my chest, making it difficult to breathe. By the time my generation reaches old age, just how much of our past will be left?

Leave a Reply

